MET BALL 2017

Although I have never reported on Fashion before I figured that this could be a first. Last night’s annual MET Ball took place at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City. This year’s theme was Rei Kawakubo/Comme des Garçons: Art of the In-Between.

Dozens of stars, celebrities, musicians, models, fashion people etc put their faces on and got all dolled up for the fashion event of the year. With some really going to town with the theme of this year’s ball and some missing the mark completely. It was definitely something…to say the least.

Having never actually been to the MET Ball I can only share what I know about it. The annual MET Ball (or Met Gala) takes place on the first Monday in May every year and is officially a fundraising event for the Metropolitan Museum of Art Costume Institute. Ever since Vogue Editor-In-Cheif and artistic director of Condé Nast Anna Wintour took charge as chairwomen in 1999 she has transformed the event to what is it now.

Taking it from a simple fundraising event, Wintour has evolved it into the biggest mix of fashion, film, politics, celebrity, culture the Gala has become one of the biggest events in fashion of the year with some giving it the title of “the party of the year,” and “the Oscars of the East Coast” and has raised millions of dollars for the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Costume Institute.

Each year Anna Wintour works with the Museum to put together a themed exhibition for the Costume Institute past themes have included Charles James: Beyond Fashion 2014, China: Through the Looking Glass 2015, Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty 2012, and last years Manus x Machina: Fashion In An Age Of Technology.  The Met Ball marks the grand opening of the Costume Institute’s annual fashion exhibit which tends to run for several months following the Gala.

This year, the exhibition is “Rei Kawakubo/Comme des Garçons: Art of the In-Between,” and the co-chairs along Anna Wintour included: Tom Brady, Gisele Bündchen, Katy Perry and Pharrell Williams and honorary chairwomen Ms Kawakubo and Caroline Kennedy.

No doubt did this year’s stars show out for the evening. Taken from various sources I have put together what was some of my favourite looks from the red carpet that I saw with both the ladies and some of the men really bringing it home.

Based on what I’ve seen I would have to say that my favourites were Rihanna, Behati Prinsloo, Candice Swanepoel, Nicki Minaj, Mary J Blige, Jennifer Lopez, Stella Maxwell and Gisele. With many of the other celebrities featured in this post on my looked good list. Apologies to those not mentioned and sorry to the Kardashians who simply did not cut it for me this year. People need to be bold and really go to town with the theme dare to be different and really embrace the themes. Playing it safe is so 2000, but hey what do I know about fashion??

I’m sure this years ball was as successful as the previous and I must say that compared to the fashions that I saw last year where it seemed like most people missed the mark I was impressed with some of the fashions I saw.

So until the day, I am able to bag an invite we can just admire from afar and imagine what it must be like to be inside this coveted event.

 

Leave a Reply

